We're here to help, 24x7

Small Business & Small Business Premium - Plan update FAQs

by Community Manager ‎27-02-2017 07:54 PM - edited ‎27-02-2017 07:55 PM

How do I know if my plan is being updated?

Check below to see if your ‘current’ plan name is being updated:

Current plan name

New plan name

Small Business Premium

Office 365 Business Premium

Office 365 Small Business Premium Offer with Domain

Office 365 Bundle - Business Premium with domain

Office 365 Small Business Premium Offer

Office 365 Bundle - Business Premium

BizEssentials Add-On Office 365 Small Business Premium Offer

BizEssentials - Office 365 Business Premium

BizEssentials Add-On Office 365 Small Business Premium Offer with Domain

BizEssentials - Office 365 Business Premium with domain

DOT Add-On Office 365 Small Business Premium Offer

Office 365 Bundle - Business Premium

Small Business

Office 365 Business Essentials

Microsoft Office 365 SMB Offer -  Plan P1

Office 365 Bundle - Business Essentials

Microsoft Office 365 Small Business Offer

Office 365 Bundle - Business Essentials

BizEssentials Add-On Office 365 Small Business Offer

BizEssentials - Office 365 Business Essentials

DOT Add-On Office 365 Small Business Offer with Domain

Office 365 Bundle - Business Essentials with domain

DOT Add-On Office 365 Small Business Offer

Office 365 Bundle - Business Essentials

 

Will I receive information about this update and what plan I’m on?

Yes, we’ve sent you an email outlining your current plan and new plan, and changes to your service. The email is from ‘Telstra Apps Marketplace’.

 

I’ve already received emails about this update? Why another one?

This additional email is sent because you have two different types of Microsoft plans and we need to update both at once.

 

When is the first update scheduled for?

We are targeting March/April 2017 for the updates.

 

When will the update occur?

The update will commence on a Friday evening outside business hours and last up to 72hrs.
We will notify you at least 7 days prior to the update and also after it has been completed.

 

How long will the update take?

The process per customer should take up to 72hrs.

 

Will there be any impact to my services?

There should be no impacts to customer services.

 

Why is this change occurring?

Microsoft have updated their Office 365 plans and removed some of the existing plans. Telstra are moving customers off services that will no longer be supported by Microsoft.

 

Can I perform any activities in Telstra Apps Marketplace or the Microsoft Online Portal on my Microsoft apps during the update?

No. You’ll be unable to perform Microsoft-related management activities in Telstra Apps Marketplace and/or the Microsoft Online Portal during the updating process (up to 72 hours).

 

I'm using Microsoft Office in a RDS (remote desktop services) /terminal services environment. Will I still be able to use this feature after my plan is updated?

No, the new Microsoft plans will not support these environments. If you’d like to continue using this feature you’ll need to upgrade to Office 365 Enterprise (Plan E3), either prior to the plan update or after.

 

Will my discount continue to work with my new service?

All existing discounts will continue to apply.

 

Will historical invoices be impacted?

Historical invoices will not be impacted.

 

I have a suspended service. Will it be updated also?

Sorry, we’re not able to update suspended services. Please call Billing support on 1800 878 483 for assistance with suspended services.

 

Will all my user assignments be maintained?

Yes.  There’ll be no need to re-assign users.

 

Will my ‘Partner of Record’ be affected?

No. If you have a partner listed as your Partner of Record, it will remain.

 

Will I receive a notification as a result of the change?

Yes. An email communication will be issued to the Customer Administrator(s) listed on the Telstra Apps Marketplace.

 

Will my service charges be impacted by the change?

No. All existing charges shall remain the same and will be locked in for 12mths period – also known as your Pricing Validity Period.

 

Do I still get Microsoft Access included if I transition from M SKU to Business Premium?

Yes.

Access will be rolling out to Office 365 Business and Business Premium subscribers between December 1, 2016 and January 30, 2017. Access will be automatically installed for these customers as part of their next regular Office client update. This will appear as an “Update Available” button in whatever office client app you are using (Outlook, Word, etc). Once updated Microsoft Access will be included.

Access will continue to be included in the Office 365 ProPlus, E3 and E5 plans. Please note, Microsoft has announced that Infopath will no longer be available on Office 365 plans.

 

I have an add-on service like ‘SharePoint Extra Storage’, will this remain after the update?

No, Microsoft now provide a larger amount of storage on their new plans so your storage Add-on will be removed during the update, and you’ll no longer have to pay for it.

 

Can I still purchase additional storage if I need it?

Of course, you can purchase additional storage after the update if you require it. Ensure you have enough storage for your data within 90 days after the plan update.

 

What data is on the new plans?
The new plans have 1TB per tenant + 0.5GB per subscribed user + any additional storage purchased (you can purchase an unlimited amount of additional storage.)

 

Will my data be deleted if I go over my limit?
No, you’ll have 90 days to purchase additional storage after which your data may be deleted.

 

How will I be notified if I go over the limit?
You can find out if you are approaching your storage limits in one of two ways:

  • Go to Admin > SharePoint and then on the site collections menu, view the amount of storage used.

Your screen might look like either of the following screenshots:

image2.pngimage1.jpg

  • Sign up for an email alert when you set your storage quota. Select Admin > SharePoint > Site collections. Choose a URL and then select Server Resource Quota. Select the Send email when each selected site collection resource usage reaches warning level check box.


Can I delay the update to a later date?

No, the update takes place across the entire Telstra Apps Marketplace platform. You cannot be moved individually.

 

Will I need to make any software changes as a result of the change?

If you or your end users have AutoUpdate enabled in your Office 365 applications your new plans will be automatically installed and updated to an Office 2016 version. We recommend you have AutoUpdate enabled, and to check if you do follow these links for Windows or Mac. We also recommend you communicate this to your team.

 

What if I have AutoUpdate turned disabled?

If you or your end users have AutoUpdate disabled you’ll be prompted to log in to the Office 365 portal and shown a link to download and install your new plan’s Office 2016 software (even if you have already updated to Office 2016 in the past).

 

Do I need to let my end users know if AutoUpdate is disabled?

Yes, we strongly recommend you inform your end users if there’s a need to download and install the new software. Like you, they will be prompted with a pop-up screen in their Office application for the download and install process.

 

Download and install instructions for after the move to your new plan:

Option 1 – you currently have Office 2015 installed

  1. Pop-up will appear when you open an Office app.
    Click ‘Go to your account to install it’image3.png
  2. Click ‘Install now’.image4.png
  3. Click ‘Remove and Continue’.image4.png
  4. Office 2016 will install.image6.png
  5. Once installed, click ‘Close’.image7.png

Option 2 – you currently have Office 2016 installed

  1. After the update, an account notice will pop-up when you open an Office app.
    Click ‘Update’.image8.png
  2. Office 2016 will update in the background.
    Please note that if you are not signed in, you will be prompted to, to enable the update to complete.